Who are the top 10 all-time La Liga goalscorers of all time?

With Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo breaking almost every La Liga record possible, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that they managed to beat the all-time goalscorers record as well.

Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi beat Telmo Zarra’s record of 251 goals as the Argentine forward scored 361 goals in 392 appearances for Barcelona becoming La Liga’s all-time top goalscorer.

Zarra was much different player to what Messi is, though as the forward was known to be a poacher and had a brilliant scoring ratio of 0.91, something even Ronaldo and Messi would have been proud of.

Messi meanwhile, is regarded as footballing idol of present generation as he surges to break every individual record possible in football along with achieving team success with both Barcelona and Argentina.

As a player though, Messi has won everything possible in club football, but his international success hasn’t been upto the mark.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are the only active players in La Liga to have scored over hundred goals and with their ability of scoring a goal every game, they might as well dominate this list in near future.

Cristiano Ronaldo has been terrific in La Liga so far, having a brilliant goalscoring ratio of 1.06 which the most among players who have scored over 100 goals in La Liga.

Hugo Sanchez is fourth, behind Messi in the all-time highest goalscorers list, with 234 goals in 378 appearances maily for Real Madrid.

The Mexican forward is followed by Raul, another Real Madrid legend as the Spanish striker has 228 goals in 550 appearances for Los Galacticos.

Rank Nat. Name Years Goals Apps Ratio
1 Argentina Lionel Messi 2004– 361 392 0.92
2 Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo 2009– 286 271 1.06
3 Spain Telmo Zarra 1940–1955 251 278 0.9
4 Mexico Hugo Sánchez 1981–1994 234 347 0.67
5 Spain Raúl 1994–2010 228 550 0.41
6 Argentina Alfredo Di Stéfano 1953–1966 227 329 0.69
7 Spain César Rodríguez 1939–1955 223 353 0.63
8 Spain Quini 1970–1987 219 448 0.49
9 Spain Pahiño 1943–1956 210 278 0.76
10 Spain Edmundo Suárez 1939–1950 195 231 0.84

Add Comment